

To: Members of the County Council Date: 27 June 2018

Direct Dial: 01824706141

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

# **Dear Councillor**

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COUNTY COUNCIL to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 3 JULY 2018 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN LL15 1YN.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

## **AGENDA**

# PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

# 1 APOLOGIES

# 2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

# 3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

# 4 CHAIRMAN'S DIARY (Pages 5 - 6)

To note the civic engagements undertaken by the Chairman of the Council (copy attached).

# **5 MINUTES** (Pages 7 - 18)

To receive the minutes of the meeting of Annual Council held on 15 May 2018, and Special Council held on 11 June 2018 (copy attached).

### 6 **GROWTH VISION AND STRATEGY FOR THE ECONOMY OF NORTH** WALES: GOVERNANCE AGREEMENT (Pages 19 - 80)

To consider a report by the Head of Legal, HR & Democratic Services (copy attached) to seek Council's approval of the Governance Agreement.

#### 7 NOTICE OF MOTION

Councillor Emrys Wynne put forward the following Notice of Motion:

This Council calls on the County Council to show leadership to the rest of Denbighshire by committing to become a plastic free County within two years. This Council will not use single use plastic.

We also call on the Council to contact the County's goods suppliers, calling on them to consider their use of plastic.

To consider the use of plastic when contracting to external companies.

Plastic straws will be exempt from this policy because of the needs of people with disabilities and swallowing difficulties.

### 8 **COUNTY COUNCIL FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME** (Pages 81 - 84)

To consider the Council's forward work programme (copy attached).

# **MEMBERSHIP**

# Councillors

Councillor Peter Scott (Chair) Councillor Meirick Lloyd Davies (Vice-

Chair)

Christine Marston Mabon ap Gwynfor Brian Blakeley **Barry Mellor** Joan Butterfield Melvyn Mile Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones **Bob Murray** 

Merfvn Parrv Ellie Chard Paul Penlington Ann Davies Pete Prendergast **Gareth Davies Arwel Roberts Hugh Evans** Peter Evans Anton Sampson Bobby Feeley Glenn Swingler Rachel Flynn **Andrew Thomas** Tony Flynn Rhys Thomas

**Huw Hilditch-Roberts Tony Thomas** 

Martyn Holland Julian Thompson-Hill Hugh Irving **Graham Timms** Alan James Joe Welch

**Brian Jones Chervl Williams Huw Jones David Williams** Pat Jones **Eryl Williams** Tina Jones **Huw Williams** 

Gwyneth Kensler Geraint Lloyd-Williams Richard Mainon

Emrys Wynne Mark Young

# **COPIES TO:**

Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils